Department Blog

Posted 10/20/2013 by Linda Kesselring

Energy Drink Consumption by Young Adults

Brad Cotter, MD, recently published two articles on the use of caffeinated energy drinks by young adults who come to emergency departments. One article was in the August issue of Clinical Toxicology and the other in the October issue of Pediatric Emergency Care.

Posted 10/18/2013 by Linda Kesselring

Dr. Pei Publishes Case Report in AJEM

Y. Veronica Pei, MD, MPH, MEd, published a case report titled “Intrahepatic Hematoma Requiring Hepatic Artery Embolization: A Rare Complication of Extracorporeal Shock Wave Lithotripsy” in the September issue of the American Journal of Emergency Medicine.

Posted 10/16/2013 by Linda Kesselring

Urgencia UC: Conceptos 2013

Amal Mattu, MD, was the keynote speaker at "Urgencia UC: Conceptos 2013," the annual emergency medicine conference sponsored by the Catholic University of Chile. He conducted a 5-hour ECG conference and presented three lectures: “10 Things You Must Consider in the Decompensating Patient: Beyond A-B-C and ACLS,” “Infections in the Elderly: Simple Pearls to Save a Life,” and “Syncope, Sudden Death, and the ECG.”

Posted 10/16/2013 by Linda Kesselring

Dr. Butler Lectures at ACOEP Conference

Ken Butler, DO, was a faculty member for this year’s Scientific Assembly of the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians. He presented lectures on traumatic brain injury and conscious sedation. The conference was held in San Diego in early October.

Congratulations to Drs. Witting, Sommerkamp, Euerle and alumnus Milan Vora on their article titled "No effect of valsalva maneuver or trendelenburg angle on axillary vein size" that was recently published in the Journal of Emergency Medicine. You can find the abstract here

A huge thank you to all the University of Maryland physicians, nurses, residents, and nurse practiionars that are working at the Grand Prix or Baltimore this weekend providing medical coverage to the drivers and spectators. A huge thank you to Dr. Benjamin Lawner for coordinating the medical support.

More information on the Grand Prix of Baltimore can be found at

Posted 7/24/2013 by Linda Kesselring

Dr. Lawner Presents Lecture at Florida ClinCon

Ben Lawner, DO, EMT-P, presented a general session lecture titled "Avoiding Common Prehospital Errors; Don't Bury Your Mistakes" at ClinCon, a continuing education conference for prehospital care providers, nurses, and physicians. The conference, with more than 300 attendees, was held in Orlando in mid-July. Following the lecture, Dr. Lawner led a breakout session on the recognition and management of post cardiac arrest syndrome.

Congratulations to Larry Weiss on his recent article in the Journal of Emergency Medicine titled "A Survey of Emergency Physicians Regarding Due Process, Financial Pressures, and the Ability to Advocate for Patients" You can read the article at

Posted 7/1/2013 by Michael Bond

Wade Gaasch publishes in Prehospital Emergency Care

Congratulations to Wade Gaasch on his recent publication in Prehospital Emergency Care titled “ EMS runs for suspected opioid overdose: implications for surveillance and prevention” The abstract can be found at

Congratulations to Drs. Witting, Hayes and Schenkel along with two alumni, Dr Lantyr and Vashi on their recently published article in the Journal of Emergency Medicine titled "Emergency Department Medication History Taking: Current Inefficiency and Potential for a Self-Administered Form" The abstract can be found at