Department Blog - March 2023

Clinical Associate Professor Zachary Dezman, MD, MS, participated in panel discussions as part of “Understanding Fatal Overdoses to Inform Product Development and Public Health Interventions to Manage Overdose” March 8-9, a virtual program hosted by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and the Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA to explore clinical and public health responses to fatal overdoses of fentanyl and other street drugs.

Associate Professor Ben Lawner, DO, MS, was an invited speaker at the annual conference of the National Collegiate EMS Foundation held Feb. 24-26, 2023 in Boston. Dr. Lawner lectured on mass casualty triage and transport, and hosted ECG and intubation skills labs at the conference, which drew more than 1,000 campus-based EMS providers from across the country.

EM faculty led the development of two recent issues of Emergency Medicine Clinics of North America. Assistant Professor Kim Boswell, MD, was a guest editor of the February 2023 issue on Trauma Emergencies, with authors including Associate Professors Wendy Chang, MD and Dan Haase, MD, Assistant Professors Jennifer Guyther, MD and Ashley Menne, MD, and senior resident Rachel Wiltjer, DO. Assistant Professor Leen Alblaihed, MBBS, MHA, was a guest editor of the November 2022 issue on Cardiovascular Emergencies. The issue included articles by Professor Michael Bond, MD, Assistant Professor Kami Hu, MD, EM physicians Tareq Al-Salamah, MD, MPH, and Phil Magidson, MD, MPH, and residency grads Robert Brown, MD, Aki Honasoge, MD, and Jobin Philip, MD.

Dean Mark T. Gladwin, MD, delivered the keynote address at the first Emergency Medicine Translational Research conference, presented jointly by the Eureka Institute for Translational Medicine and the National Foundation of Emergency Medicine (NFEM) Feb. 1-3 in San Diego. Speakers from the Department of Emergency Medicine included Professor and Chair Brian J. Browne, MD, Professor and Director of Research Stephen R. Thom, MD, PhD, and Associate Professor Gentry Wilkerson, MD. Attending the conference as invited scholars were Department of Emergency Medicine assistant professors J. David Gatz, MD, Dan Gingold, MD, MPH, and Alexis Salerno, MD, and clinical assistant professor Zachary Dezman, MD, MS.