Department Blog - May 2013

Posted 5/27/2013 by Linda Kesselring

Clinics: Head-Hole Emergencies

Alisa Gibson, MD, DMD, guest edited the May issue of Emergency Medicine Clinics of North America, on the topic of head, eye, ear, nose, and throat emergencies. Contributors included Sarah Sommerkamp, MD, RDMS (on the topic of oral lesions [co-authored with Dr. Gibson]), Victoria Romaniuk, MD (on ocular trauma), and Kim Boswell, MD (on facial fractures). The issue opens with a foreword by Amal Mattu, MD, a consulting editor for the journal.

Posted 5/26/2013 by Linda Kesselring

Dr. Nable Wins ACOEP Award

J.V. Nable, MD, EMT-P, won the New Speaker's Forum at the Spring Seminar of the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians, held in Ft. Lauderdale in April. The title of his lecture was "Is There a Doctor on Board? In-Flight Medical Emergencies for the Emergency Physician."

Posted 5/25/2013 by Linda Kesselring

Prolonged QT Interval Article in AJEM

Josh Moskovitz, MD, MPH, Bryan Hayes, PharmD, Joe Martinez, MD, and Amal Mattu, MD, published “Electrocardiographic Implications of the Prolonged QT Interval” in the May issue of the American Journal of Emergency Medicine.

Posted 5/24/2013 by Linda Kesselring

Critical Decisions: Anticoagulants and Systemic Infections

Our department is well represented, with two articles, in the April issue of Critical Decisions in Emergency Medicine: “New Oral Anticoagulants,” by Ellen Lemkin, MD, PharmD, Bryan Hayes, PharmD, and Floyd Howell, MD, with co-author Kristin Watson, PharmD, from the School of Pharmacy, and “Systemic Infections in Elderly Patients,” by Danya Khoujah, MBBS, and Cindy Shen, DO.

Posted 5/23/2013 by Linda Kesselring

Dr. Sethuraman Receives AWAEM Award

Kinjal Sethuraman, MD, MPH, received the Momentum Award from the Academy for Women in Academic Emergency Medicine, honoring her dedication and service to the organization. She also has been elected to the Academy’s executive committee, accepting the office of secretary.

Posted 5/23/2013 by Linda Kesselring

Residency Journal Club Publishes SAH Article

The Journal Club’s discussion of subarachnoid hemorrhage culminated with the publication of an article in the May issue of The Journal of Emergency Medicine. The authors—Ali Farzad, MD, Bethany Radin, DO, Jason Oh, MD, Heidi Teague, MD, Brian Euerle, MD, RDMS, JV Nable, MD, Andrew Windsor, MD, and Michael Witting, MD, MS—all contributed to a debate about diagnostic strategies for SAH and compiled their perspectives in a manuscript titled “Emergency Diagnosis of Subarachnoid Hemorrhage: An Evidence-Based Debate.”

Visit the conference website at for more details and to register.

In his role as the medical director for the Baltimore City Fire Department, Wade Gaasch, MD, is serving as a co-principal investigator for a study supported by the NIH Clinical Trial Planning Grant Program (R34), titled "Enhanced Brief Intervention for Linking Opiate-Using EMS Patients to Treatment." The grant was awarded to the Department of Health, Behavior and Society in the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Heath, with the fire department as a subrecipient.