Department Blog - March 2013

Amal Mattu, MD, was honored with the prestigious Peter Rosen Award during the 2013 Annual Assembly of the American Academy of Emergency Medicine, held in Las Vegas in February. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the Academy in the area of academic leadership. Amal has served on several AAEM committees, has edited and contributed to many of the organization’s publications, and has been an invited speaker at every national AAEM conference since 2001. This is the fifth award that AAEM has bestowed on Amal to recognize his contributions and leadership.

The Elizabeth L. "Betty" Tso, MD, Endowed Professorship Fund is accepting contributions toward its sustaining principle. This fund, named in honor of one of the founding members of our department, and one of our most beloved faculty members, will support a faculty position dedicated to advancing our educational programs. If you would like to contribute to this fund, please contact Sheila Young in the Development Office at the University of Maryland School of Medicine. You can reach Sheila at or 410-706-0106.

Posted 3/16/2013 by Kristin Cioffi

Faculty lecture for local EMS course

J.V. Nable and Ben Lawner presented lectures at the paramedic refresher course sponsored by the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, in late February. Seventy paramedics from across the country were trained during this 4-day program.

Bryan Hayes, Mike Winters, Brian Browne, and Jon Mark Hirshon published an article titled “To-Go Medications for Decreasing ED Return Visits” in the November 2012 issue of The American Journal of Emergency Medicine. Their co-authors on this paper were Leila Zaharna and Agnes Ann Feemster from Clinical Pharmacy and Investigational Drug Services, UMMC.

Posted 3/12/2013 by Kristin Cioffi

Faculty Podcast News

Dr. Rob Rogers’ podcast, “Educational Guides” (, was cited as one of “10 Clicks to Being a Savvier Clinician” by Medscape, part of the WebMD Health Professional Network.