Department Blog - April 2024

First-year resident Robert Dunn, MD, delivered a talk titled “Drop the Mic #1: The Patient-Payer Relationship” at the national ACEP Leadership and Advocacy Conference in Washington, DC, on April 14. The talk was part of the conference's Health Policy Primer, presented by the ACEP Young Physicians Section and the Emergency Medicine Residents Association.

Posted 4/23/2024 by Eileen O'Brien

EM resident advances to final round of CPC competition

EM/Peds resident Taylor Lindquist, DO, was named Best Resident Presenter at the Clinical Pathologic Case Competition (CPC) national semifinals at the Council of Residency Directors (CORD) meeting in New Orleans, LA, on March 28. She will compete in the final round at the ACEP24 scientific assembly in September. Instructor Rachel Wiltjer, DO, and resident Robert Iannaccone, MD, were among the CPC runners-up. Assistant Clerkship Director Kathleen Stephanos, MD, served as a judge in other divisions of the competition.

Posted 4/19/2024 by Eileen O'Brien

Global audience for emergency cardiology symposium

“Cardiology Challenges,” the EM Department’s annual emergency cardiology symposium, was presented on the UMB campus April 3. Professor and Vice Chair of Academic Affairs Amal Mattu, MD, organized the conference. About 60 emergency clinicians on campus attended, as did 500 online participants from around the globe. Video proceedings of the conference are expected to reach more than 2,000 additional registrants, who may view it at their convenience.

Lecturers included Assistant Professor Leen Alblaihed, MBBS, MPH, on “Soundwaves of Survival: Echocardiography’s Role in Peri-Arrest Cases,” Associate Professor Semhar Tewelde, MD, on “Sick AF: Atrial Fibrillation in Critical Illness,” and Clinical Instructor and Cardiology Fellow Rohit Menon, MD, on “Third Time’s NOT the Charm? Management of Electrical Storm.”

Posted 4/18/2024 by Eileen O'Brien

Maryland ACEP names president and honorees from UMEM

The EM Department hosted the annual meeting and education conference of the Maryland Chapter of the ACEP, the American College of Emergency Physicians, on April 11 at the SMC Campus Center. Professor Michael Bond, MD, began his term as Maryland ACEP President, and resident Satya Vedula, MD, began his term as the UMEM residents’ representative on the organization's board.

EM resident and faculty development fellow Bri Klucher, MD, won the conference’s annual Larry Linder Resident Lecture competition. Other honors went to Professor Stephen M. Schenkel, MD, MPP, named Chairperson of the Year, and Associate Professor Dan Gingold, MD, MPH, named EMS Physician of the Year.