Department Blog

Jon Mark Hirshon, MD, MPH, FACEP, FAAEM, FACPM, Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, was elected to two new positions in October 2019. He will serve as Chairman of the Board of the American College of Emergency Physicians for one year and Member of the Board of Trustees for the Emergency Medicine Foundation for three years.

The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) is the national medical society representing emergency medicine. Through continuing education, research, public education and advocacy, ACEP advances emergency care on behalf of its 40,000 emergency physician members and the more than 150 million Americans they treat on an annual basis. The Emergency Medicine Foundation (EMF) is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization founded in 1972 by visionary leaders of ACEP. EMF supports scientifically rigorous research and education that improves the care of the acutely ill and injured. To date, EMF has awarded more than $16 million in research grants to advance emergency medicine science and health policy.